California Swoon in June, Summer Streaking

The All-Star Break has come which is a great time for an update. After being swept by Oakland, the last leg of the road trip took us to Anaheim where I lost a pair before returning home to face the other LA team. The Dodgers take both games to make me 1-10 against California teams so far! A set against Tampa Bay sets off a great offensive stretch outscoring them 44-8 in a four game series. I sweep the the next pair of series against Texas and Baltimore to end the month of June.

Going into a four game set in Minnesota to start July, I’m riding a ten game win streak while the Twins have dropped ten in a row. I beat them in a romp 10-2 and the next game they jump on me for a 5-0 lead enroute to a 5-6 loss for me on a play at the plate. We split the series and I head back to The Bronx to close out the first half. After dropping the first game against Baltimore, I start another tear winning 9 straight going into the break. Now in complete control of the AL East with a 60-36 record leading second place Toronto by 7 games.

I have Canó and Granderson vying for the triple crown with Canó hitting .411 and tied for the HR lead with Grandy at 49 who leads the league in RBI with 100. It made for an interesting Home Run Derby where the two totaled almost 100 homers with Canó taking the silver trophy and the Chevy. The All-Star Game was a doozy after NL takes a 3-0 going into the fifth inning. I get 1 off a Jose Reyes solo shot. Then in the ninth with two outs a sequence of hit, stolen base, hit, stolen base, hit ties the game at 3 with Youkilis up to bat with two runners on. He takes the first pitch deep to top off a 5-run inning leading to an AL victory of 6-4.

With a commanding division lead and home field advantage in the World Series secured for the AL, I look to continue my dominance in July and fight for the best record in baseball.

-Mikhail

Leave a Reply

